RSS

carmelite meeting

17 May

Are there any lay Carmelites on this site?  I see a lot of blogs that give the distinct impression that people are actively  involved with the Catholic Church.  I am a lay Carmelite in Northeastern Pennsylvania.  We are part of the Province of St. Elias.  It is based in Middletown, New York.    This morning I went to a meeting.   There was a reasonably nice crowd.  I’ve decided to use this as my Carmelite blog.   In it, I shall make specifically Carmelite observations.   Any lay Catholic who feels as if he may have a lay vocation to either the Carmelites or some other religious community should seriously think of looking into something like this.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2008 in catholic

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “carmelite meeting

  1. Larry Betson

    July 26, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Hello,

    I am actually joining a Lay Discalced Carmelite Order in New Jersey which is where I am from. This will be my first meeting as a visitor. I am very drawn to the charism of the Carmelites. Can you give me an idea of what to expect on my first visit?

    Thank you.

    In the burning hearts of Jesus and Mary.

    Larry

     
    • larry trasciatti

      July 27, 2010 at 9:34 am

      Larry,
      I’m really happy to see you’re so interested in Carmel. I’m calced so my circumstance are different from yours but we probably have a lot in common. As a newcomer you will be told about the order’s history, famous saints, blesseds, etc., charism. You’ll be expected to go through a few yrs of classes with a formation director, besides the regular meetings, to discern whether you have a real vocation to Carmel. You will have to be received first & then professed. Our order has no historical founder, like, Dominic, Francis, Stanislaus, Ignatius, etc. Our roots go back to the O.T. Prophet Elijah. Unlike the other orders, who have usually either the Augustinian or Benedictine rule, we live under the rule of St Albert. You will be expected to say the morning, evening, night prayers from the breviary each day. We have to account to people in Middletown, NY, at the Province of St. Elias. You will have to answer to superiors in the calced branch. I know they have a province in New Hampshire. I hope you will be willing to keep in touch & let me know how you’ve been progressing in Carmel. Ave Maria Larry

       

Leave a Reply

 
